Is-ness

17 09 2016

I am white.

I am male.

I am middle class.

I have an ego that conceals insecurity through:

“niceness”,

defensiveness,

and self-centeredness.

This is who I am –

categories and words used to describe, contain, and limit.

I apologize to the self I was created to be.

 

I see you as a race.

I speak to you loudly because you are not native to these shores.

I define you by your age.

I buy into roles because of your gender.

I have been uncomfortable because of your sexual orientation –

prejudices and definitions born out of fear, insecurity, and environment.

I apologize to those other than myself.

 

We are created in the image of the Creator;

the One, when asked to be defined, answered, “I am that I am”.

 

It is not binary labels that define us . . . or others;

those are for our own safety and control.

 

It is our is-ness

the truth that we are;

the truth of who we are;

created by the Creator;

imprinted with the Designer’s image –

the One who cannot be defined –

that makes us “one-of-a-kind” and limitless.

 

This is our essence.

And our essence –

our being,

our is-ness,

from the beginning,

has been declared good…

very, very good.

pure joy

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 09 2016
Maggie Lears

I really love this one, Greg – the words and the picture are so profoundly real and true.

17 09 2016
gacochran

Thanks Maggie. It’s that “Just Be It” thing.

Leave a Reply

