Help me to love. . .

29 12 2015
Little River Stairs

Help me to love.

A simple request, this may seem;

but, if genuine, there is a cost – my ego…

 

I proceed, then, with trepidation; in faith, but with apprehension –

faith in the Love for which I thirst;

faith in the essence of the I-Am-Who-I-Am DNA from which I was created;

created in love, by Love.

 

So help me to love –

in the presence of kindness but also within accumulating animosity;

in the presence of thoughtfulness but also within the novocaine of indifference;

in the presence of goodness but also among incessant evil;

in the presence of joy but also within piercing pain;

in the presence of light but also in life’s seemingly non-ending darkness;

in the presence of gratefulness but also within the expectations of entitlement;

in the presence of inclusion but also in the pith of prejudice’s narrowness;

in the presence of those who build up but also in the presence of those who destroy;

in the presence of like-minded believers but also among control-based condemners.

 

Help me love neighbor and self as well – for the mirror into which I look reflects all that has been named.

I am not clean of these adjectives, adverbs, verbs and nouns.

 

This is what You ask, right? The One who is Love? To love…all?

 

Give me courage, then, to risk letting go:

of ego;

of who I believe I am suppose to be;

of fear-based living…

 

Help me love…

Townsend Tunnel


Actions

Information

4 responses

29 12 2015
SisterMarilynSabatino

Greg…what …a wonderful prayer…continued Christmas blessings…Sister Marilyn

Like

29 12 2015
gacochran

Hi Marilyn. Good to hear from you! Blessings to you as well!

Like

1 01 2016
MARY JANE KUSIAK

HI GREG I REALLY LIKE THIS PRAYER. ALWAYS BLESSINGS TO YOU AND YOUR WHOLE FAMILY MARY JANE

Like

2 01 2016
gacochran

Thanks Mary Jane. And blessings to you and your family in the coming year.

Like

Leave a comment