The Journey…

24 04 2014

DSC_0239

 

 

 

 

I am sometimes…

            a lot of times…

                        most of the time…

                                                my own worst enemy.

 

Always looking too far ahead –

                                    absent from the immediate gifts about me.

 

A Silers Bald to Clingmans Dome experience gifts my memory–

all up hill…

up mountain.

 My spirit deceiving my eyes;

physical burn clouding my vision –

seeing only the next climb;

My heart pulled down by discouragement and despair…

depriving myself of what gives life:

                        Presence…

living in, open to, and awareness of the Now.

 

It is not only on the mountain where I carry the enemy.

So, too, it is in my daily living.

I look too far ahead;

my eyes deceived;

my heart chained by fear, expectations, and self-doubt.

 I am not mindful of Presence in the present…

 

I suspect if I were more so,

getting to the top…

to here or there,

would not be as important as the journey.

(the photo is from Clingmans Dome)

Actions

Information

One response

24 04 2014
oahuhiking

Reblogged this on oahuhiking.

Leave a Reply

