Old friend…

30 01 2013

Snow Tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Grief. Hello old friend;

your visit is unexpected.

 

this time you come in a carriage of a song’s lyric and melody;

why not come as you have before?

through captured images in my hand or on a screen?

in the eyes and gestures of one who is younger?

through a word spoken?

even through whispers of creation’s breath?

no matter –- you are here . . .

 

I must admit —

I dread your appearance at my threshold;

your gifts –- fear, loss, pain -– are ones I do not want to open;

but you insist . . .

 

I am learning though -–

learning to welcome your impromptu visits;

so, come to my door by whatever mode you choose;

come in and sit,

have a cup of tea with me;

and please, open my gifts to you . . .

 

a treasure chest of memories,

laughter echoing from stories lived,

Hope that transcends presence,

Peace – peace, flowing like a river deep inside me . . .

welcome . . .

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 01 2013
Maggie Lears

Oh Greg, thank you…

30 01 2013
gacochran

you’ve been in my thoughts Maggie…

1 02 2013
greenlightlady

Beautifully written! This brought a tear to my eye. It reminds me of how I startle, sometimes, if the phone rings at an odd hour. The telephone has brought news, in the past, that I have not wanted to hear; yet, there is no way to hold back that visitor when it comes. Denial only drags it’s visit out longer…

Blessings ~ Wendy

1 02 2013
gacochran

Thanks Wendy! Yes, I know the same feelings. And I agree – calling the visitor by name changes the visit. Blessings to you as well. —-Greg

Leave a Reply

