A Picture is Worth…

20 03 2012

Over the years, one analogy I’ve used to describe “God moments” amid my daily living is snapshots – light streaming through autumn leaves bathing a fence…snapshot; a red-tailed hawk gliding in a quiet sky…snapshot; two weather-worn wooden chairs waiting to support a good conversation…snapshot; a sunrise horizon over the Atlantic blurring definition between water and sky…snapshot.

Within the past several years, I have discovered a path to express my gratefulness for these “thin place” moments of snapshots with…well…snapshots. Photography has become an important way for me to see, express, and share God’s presence within creation and among us.

Last year, my friend Marsha (who knows my growing love of photography and shares a similar spiritual journey), introduced me to a blog by Eileen Campbell Reed (eileencampbellreed.org). In October and November of 2011, some of Eileen’s posts include pictures – taken by Eileen (or by her camera) – which then are described by six words…six-word stories. Marsha encouraged me to use my photos to create my own stories. What a gift!  Another avenue into meditation and prayer!

I will never capture the fullness of God’s presence within my photographs…God’s presence can never be fully captured with words, nor with images. Still, this particular taste of expression feeds my hungry soul with satisfaction.

So with thanks to Eileen Campbell Reed and my friend Marsha, and honoring my colleague and friend John Ballenger whose passion and recognition of the significance of the number 7 within life and the biblical text is contagious, the following is my attempt to offer seven-word stories. I’d love to hear yours as well!

Image

Relationship…

listening…

Being present…

Sacred space…

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 03 2012
Sue H. Gibson

Enjoyed this. I too, take photos and believe spiritual thoughts come thru, at least to me. Hope you are well. Think of your Mom as I go up and down the Six Mile Road. How is she?
Sue

22 03 2012
gacochran

Hi Sue. I’d love to see some of your photos sometime. Thanks for your thoughts. Mom is doing as well as can be expected right now. Hope you are well!

26 03 2012
eileenc1

This is a lovely photo, Greg – thanks for sharing it.
And thanks for the shout out!
Peace to you and lenten mercies,
Eileen
http://www.eileencampbellreed.org

26 03 2012
gacochran

Thank you Eileen! And I look forward to reading more of your blog!

Leave a Reply

